top of page


As a result of the successful annual Sanibel Leadership Conference, we are able to provide scholarships to English Learners in Florida so they may begin or further their post-secondary studies. This is truly a way for our newest Americans to share in the promise of our country.

Eplin Scholarship Award

2022 Recipient
Sanad Hamdi from Polk County

Hispanic Women's Council of Southwest Florida

The Hispanic Women's Council of Southwest Florida has a many-decades tradition of elevating the educational opportunities of Latino students who would otherwise not be able to continue their post-secondary studies.

The Outstanding
Citizenship Award

Apply Here

The Executive Board of the Sanibel Leadership Association, Inc. recognizes one ELL student with the Sanibel Leadership Association Citizenship Award. This award has been established by the Executive Board to honor one outstanding English Language Learner high school student who achieved academic excellence while learning English as a second language and has volunteered at the school or in the community. 

2024 recipient: Camila Vargas

Florida Department of Education José Martí Challenge Scholarship

Applicants must be a Hispanic-American student who is enrolled for a minimum of 12 credit hours for undergraduate study or nine credit hours for graduate study. Application for undergraduate study must be submitted during the applicant's senior year of high school. Graduate students may apply; however priority for the scholarship is given to high school seniors. Applicant must not owe a repayment or be in default under any state or federal grant, loan, or scholarship program unless satisfactory arrangements to repay have been made. FAFSA is required. For information see the FDOE webpage.


The Bea Palls Diversity Educator Award has been established by the Executive Board of the Sanibel Leadership Association, Inc. in honor of the Association's co-founder and president Beatrice K. Palls. Bea has committed her career to building a community of educators who value English Language Learners, their families, and the educators who serve them.  Nominees must be a Florida Prekindergarten-Grade 12 educator OR Florida college/university classroom instructor who:

  • develops a school wide culture that addresses the needs of ELLs; 

  • builds capacity in colleagues and administrators to drive the success of ELLs; and 

  • promotes a culture for the inclusion of ELL families.


2024 recipient: Minnie Cardona

bottom of page